Jump to content
दस लक्षण पर्व प्रतियोगिता ×
मेरे गुरुवर... आचार्य श्री विद्यासागर जी महाराज
  • Chapter-25 - Upadhayaya Parmeshthi

       (0 reviews)


    1. Who is called Upădhyāya Parmeshthi ?

    The ascetics who observing conduct is formally entitled for studying and teaching in the congregation, who also teaches Shravakas, i.e. devoutes in addition to Muni and is wellversed in eleven Angas (part of scriptural knowledge) and fourteen Purvas (particular parts of scriptural knowledge) or in the present has specialized knowledge of scriptures, is called Upādhyāya Parmeshthi.


    2. How many basic virtues are there of Upãdhyāya Parmeshthi ?

    There are 25 basic virtues of Upădhyāya Parmeshthi - Eleven Angas & 14 Purvas.


    3. Enumerate the names of eleven Angas ?

    1. Acharanga - It deals with the conduct of ascetics.
    2. Sutrakratanga - It contains the description of paying reverence to right knowledge and auspicious behavioural religious activity.
    3. Sthananga - It defines one, two, three, etc. more than one places / positions of six substances.
    4. Samvayanga - It contains description of similarity among substances, region, time, thought (disposition), etc. with regard to all the substances.
    5. Vyakhyaprajñāpti Anga - It contains answers to 60,000 questions by the Gandhara deva, e.g. whether Jiva exists or not and so on.
    6. Jñãytradharmakathanga - It contains description of many tales and episodes related to the life of the Teerthankaras and the Gandharas.
    7. Upaskadhyayananga - It contains description of the conduct of votaries.
    8. Antakratdashanga - During the period of each Teerthankara who attain salvation by enduring calamities, it contains tales of those ascetics.
    9. Anuttropapadakadashanga - During the period of each Teerthankara, ten such ascetics are born who by enduring calamities, are born in the five Anuttar celestial planes. It contains tales of those ascetics.
    10. Prasna-Vyakarananga - It contains answers to the questions and counter questions by means of arguing for and against (Yukti and Naya).
    11. Vipaka-sutranga - It contains narration of the fruition of merit and demerits (virtues & sins).


    4. Which is the twelth Anga and of how many kinds is that ?

    The twelfth Anga is Dristivad which contains 363 false doctrines and their contradictions. Dristivadanga is of five kinds - 1. Parikarma, 2. Sutra, 3. Prathmanuyoga, 4. Purvagata, 5. Chulika.


    5. How many kinds the Parikarma is ?

    There are five kinds - 1. Chandraprajñāpti, 2. Suryaprajñāpti, 3. Jamboodvipaprajñāpti, 4. Dvipasagarprajñāpti, 5. Vyakhyaprajñāpti.


    6. How many kinds the Chulika is ?

    There are five kinds - 1. Jalgata Chulika, 2. Sthalagata Chulika, 3. Mayagata Chulika, 4. Akashgata Chulika, 5. Roopgata Chulika.


    7. How many kinds are there of Purvagata ?

    It is of 14 kinds - 1. Utpad Purva, 2. Aõgrayniya Purva, 3. Viryanupravad Purva, 4. Astināstipravad Purva, 5. Jñãnpravad Purva, 6. Satya Pravad Purva, 7. Atma pravad Purva, 8. Karam Pravad Purva, 9. Pratyakhyan Purva, 10. Vidyanuvad Purva, 11. Kalyanuvad Purva, 12. Prananupravad Purva, 13. Kiryavishal Purva, 14. Lokbindusar Purva.

    User Feedback

    Create an account or sign in to leave a review

    You need to be a member in order to leave a review

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now

    There are no reviews to display.

  • Create New...